Follow the Leaders

Leadership Awards celebrate students, faculty and staff for their contributions on campus and beyond. Recipients are chosen by a selection committee made up of peers who review submissions from nominators. Comments from nominators demonstrate why these students are so highly esteemed.

Dean Sundberg Prize

$500 award that recognizes the exceptional leadership and positive impact of a rising junior.

Arielle Isaacs ’21

“Arielle embodies the Mudd value of creating a positive impact on one’s community through leadership. Through positions like working on the Honor Board, as a campus tour guide, club director for ASHMC and a Homework Hotline mentor tutor, Arielle has taken part in upholding the honor code, worked to engage other students in activities on campus and has shown exemplary work habits as a model for peers and coworkers.”

Outstanding Emerging Leader

Recognizes potential of a first-year or sophomore as a campus and/or community leader.

Aitzín Cornejo-Reynoso ’21

“Aitzín is a student leader and activist. A member of Society of Professional Latinos in STEMS, she is in charge of leading tutoring sessions for local high school students in partnership with Uncommon Good, a nonprofit organization. Most of the high school students served are low-income, potential first-generation college students and/or Latinx. Aitzín is willing to work hard on behalf of others without expecting anything in return.”

Skylar Gering ’22

“Skylar has a deep level of curiosity about the world in general and the natural sciences in particular. This curiosity is coupled with a strong desire to do good for the community and the planet and an incredible work ethic and positive can-do spirit. I’ve never seen Skylar unmotivated to tackle a new challenge; she always digs in when the first attempt at a problem fails, she seeks advice as needed and works with friends and classmates. She’s a Mudder through and through: in her mind, her heart, and her actions.”

Outstanding Mudder Award

Recognizes students who contribute to the community and demonstrate creativity, leadership, teamwork, ethics, inclusion, community engagement, wellness and communication in curricular and co-curricular endeavors.

Charles Dawson ’19

“Charles is always willing to help out a fellow student, even a stranger. He is understanding and truly believes in the potential of everyone around him. He takes his responsibilities seriously but still has a sense of humor, and he uses that blend to lead many different groups effectively. He’s hardworking, diligent, trustworthy and kind—he thinks about the impact he wants to have on society, and is motivated and capable of creating the type of impact he wants to see.”

Dorman Student Altruism Prize

$250 award recognizes a graduating senior student selected by peers as one who’s done the most for their fellow students.

Natalie Kadonaga ’19

“As co-president of the Living Learning Community for the past two years, Natalie has organized events that facilitate learning and discussion of social justice issues in order to address the Harvey Mudd mission to understand our impact on society. Natalie is also active in the prison education project and in the Core Revision Committee. Natalie has taken responsibility and initiative to make Mudd and the community around her a better place.”